image image image image image
Dead Wake by Erik Larson On May 1, 1915, with WWI entering its tenth month, a luxury ocean liner as richly appointed as an English country house sailed out of New York, bound for Liverpool, carrying a record number of children and infants.
A Measure of Light by Beth Powning With Beth Powning’s trademark elegance and insight into the hearts and minds of unforgettable women, A Measure of Light brings to life an extraordinary historical figure.
H is for Hawk by Helen MacDonald Destined to be a classic of nature writing, the story of how one woman trained a goshawk.
Heaven's Bankers by Harris Irfan The groundbreaking and globetrotting exploration of the Islamic finance industry, by one of its leading practitioners
12 Rose Street by Gail Bowen The indomitable Joanne Kilbourn is back! From beloved author Gail Bowen comes the 15th installment in the nationally bestselling series. For readers of Louise Penny, Ruth Rendell, and Peter Robinson.

New Titles

God's Jury by Cullen Murphy

Gods_JuryThe Inquisition conducted its last execution in 1826—the victim was a Spanish schoolmaster convicted of heresy. But, as Cullen Murphy shows in this provocative new work, not only did its offices survive into the twentieth century, in the modern world its spirit is more influential than ever.

God’s Jury encompasses the diverse stories of the Knights Templar, Torquemada, Galileo, and Graham Greene. Established by the Catholic Church in 1231, the Inquisition continued in one form or another for almost seven hundred years. Though associated with the persecution of heretics and Jews--and with burning at the stake--its targets were more numerous and its techniques more ambitious. The Inquisition pioneered surveillance and censorship and "scientific" interrogation. As time went on, its methods and mindset spread far beyond the Church to become tools of secular persecution. Traveling from freshly opened Vatican archives to the detention camps of Guantánamo to the filing cabinets of the Third Reich, Murphy traces the Inquisition and its legacy.

With the combination of vivid immediacy and deeply learned analysis that characterized his acclaimed Are We Rome?, Murphy puts a human face on a familiar but little-known piece of our past, and argues that only by understanding the Inquisition can we hope to explain the making of the present.

Site Search

New in Paper

Every Day Butterfly Kills
Gun Street Girl Tragedy in the Commons

News and Events

Sunday, March 22nd

Perfect Books is delighted to welcome award-winning Saskatchewan author Peggy Worrell as she introduces her new collection of short fiction entitled Proudflesh. Peggy will be at the store from 1 to 3 p.m.

 Thursday, April 16th

Perfect Books is excited to welcome acclaimed Canadian mystery writer Gail Bowen whose new book, 12 Rose Street releases March 3rd. Details of the event will be posted soon.

 

 Remaindered Books

New shipments of remaindered books arrive every week. Check the bin outside the store as you pass by for some surprising bargains.

 

 

Contact Us

We're conveniently located in heart of Ottawa at 258A Elgin Street (at Somerset Street West). map.

PHONE: (613) 231-6468         FAX: (613) 231-4425         EMAIL: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 

Socialize

facebook  twitter   google  rss