image image image image image
An Evening with Alan Bradley Perfect Books is proud to announce that Alan Bradley is coming to Ottawa. Join us on January 16th. Tickets are now on sale only at Perfect Books. Each ticket purchase provides a 20% discount on Alan's newest release. It arrives January 6th.
The Siege by Arturo Pérez-Reverte For fans of Alan Furst and Carlos Ruiz Zafón comes a haunting and layered thriller filled with history, adventure, suspense, and an unforgettable love story—by the internationally bestselling author Arturo Pérez-Reverte.
The Tyranny of Experts by William Easterly Over the last century, global poverty has largely been viewed as a technical problem that merely requires the right "expert" solutions. Yet all too often, experts recommend solutions that fix immediate problems without addressing the systemic political factors that created them in the first place.
SkyLight by Jose Saramago A previously unpublished novel by a literary master, Skylight tells the intertwined stories of the residents of a faded apartment building in 1940s Lisbon.
Abducting a General by Patrick Leigh Fermor One of the greatest feats in Patrick Leigh Fermor's remarkable life was the kidnapping of General Kreipe, the German commander in Crete, on 26 April 1944. He and Captain Billy Moss hatched a daring plan to abduct the general, while ensuring that no reprisals were taken against the Cretan population.

New Titles

Britain's Empire by Richard Gott

Britains_EmpireSome historians in recent years have promoted the British Empire as a force for good. Richard Gott's new book, Britain's Empire: Resistance, Repression and Revolt, criticises the widely held belief that the British Empire was an imaginative and civilizing enterprise.
Gott reveals a history of systemic repression and almost perpetual violence, showing how British rule was imposed as a military operation and maintained as a military dictatorship. For colonized peoples, the experience was a horrific one, he says, of slavery, famine, battle and extermination. But, he argues, the Empire's oppressed peoples did not go quietly into this good night. Wherever Britain tried to plant its flag, it met with opposition. From Ireland to India, from the American colonies to Australia, Gott traces the rebellions and resistance of subject peoples whose all-but-forgotten stories are excluded from traditional accounts of empire. He argues that the British Empire provided a blueprint for the annihilation of peoples in twentieth-century Europe, and that its leaders must rank alongside the dictators of the twentieth century as authors of crimes against humanity on an infamous scale.

Site Search

New in Paper

The Heart Toxin Toxout
What Makes Olga Run History in 12 Maps

News and Events




 Remaindered Books

New shipments of remaindered books arrive every week. Check the bin outside the store as you pass by for some surprising bargains.

 

 

Contact Us

We're conveniently located in heart of Ottawa at 258A Elgin Street (at Somerset Street West). map.

PHONE: (613) 231-6468         FAX: (613) 231-4425         EMAIL: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 

Socialize

facebook  twitter   google  rss