image image image image image
Dead Wake by Erik Larson On May 1, 1915, with WWI entering its tenth month, a luxury ocean liner as richly appointed as an English country house sailed out of New York, bound for Liverpool, carrying a record number of children and infants.
A Measure of Light by Beth Powning With Beth Powning’s trademark elegance and insight into the hearts and minds of unforgettable women, A Measure of Light brings to life an extraordinary historical figure.
H is for Hawk by Helen MacDonald Destined to be a classic of nature writing, the story of how one woman trained a goshawk.
Heaven's Bankers by Harris Irfan The groundbreaking and globetrotting exploration of the Islamic finance industry, by one of its leading practitioners
12 Rose Street by Gail Bowen The indomitable Joanne Kilbourn is back! From beloved author Gail Bowen comes the 15th installment in the nationally bestselling series. For readers of Louise Penny, Ruth Rendell, and Peter Robinson.

The Perfect Book Club

March 28, 2012| Solar by Ian McEwan

SolarAn engrossing, satirical and very funny new novel on climate change.

Michael Beard is in his late fifties; bald, overweight, unprepossessing — a Nobel Prize-winning physicist whose best work is behind him. Trading on his reputation, he speaks for enormous fees, lends his name to the letterheads of renowned scientific institutions and half-heartedly heads a government-backed initiative tackling global warming. An inveterate philanderer, Beard finds his fifth marriage floundering. But this time it is different: she is having the affair, and he is still in love with her.

When Beard's professional and personal worlds are entwined in a freak accident, an opportunity presents itself, a chance for Beard to extricate himself from his marital mess, reinvigorate his career and very possibly save the world from environmental disaster.

With a global scope, Solar is a comedy dealing directly with the crises of today. A story of one man's ambitions and self-deceptions, it is a startling and stylish new departure in the work of one of the world's great writers.

New in Paper

Every Day Butterfly Kills
Gun Street Girl Tragedy in the Commons

News and Events

Sunday, March 22nd

Perfect Books is delighted to welcome award-winning Saskatchewan author Peggy Worrell as she introduces her new collection of short fiction entitled Proudflesh. Peggy will be at the store from 1 to 3 p.m.

 Thursday, April 16th

Perfect Books is excited to welcome acclaimed Canadian mystery writer Gail Bowen whose new book, 12 Rose Street releases March 3rd. Details of the event will be posted soon.

 

 Remaindered Books

New shipments of remaindered books arrive every week. Check the bin outside the store as you pass by for some surprising bargains.

 

 

Contact Us

We're conveniently located in heart of Ottawa at 258A Elgin Street (at Somerset Street West). map.

PHONE: (613) 231-6468         FAX: (613) 231-4425         EMAIL: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 

Socialize

facebook  twitter   google  rss