image image image image image
Tumbled Graves by Brenda Chapman The third Stonechild and Rouleau mystery is now on our shelves.  Local mystery author Brenda Chapman continues to thrill readers with this series set in Kingston and Ottawa   A missing child. A dead mother. Kala Stonechild is about to discover what one betrayal can lead to.
My Name is Lucy Barton by Elizabeth Strout A new book by Pulitzer Prize winner Elizabeth Strout is cause for celebration. Her bestselling novels, including Olive Kitteridge and The Burgess Boys, have illuminated our most tender relationships. Now, in My Name Is Lucy Barton, this extraordinary writer shows how a simple hospital visit becomes a portal to the most tender relationship of all—the one between mother and daughter.
Your Heart is a Muscle the Size of a Fist by Sunil Yapa On a rainy, cold day in November, young Victor--a nomadic, scrappy teenager who's run away from home--sets out to join the throng of WTO demonstrators determined to shut down the city.
When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?
Walking the Nile by Levison Woods The Nile, one of the world's great rivers, has long been an object of fascination and obsession. From Alexander the Great and Nero, to Victorian adventurers David Livingstone, John Hanning Speke, and Henry Morton Stanley, the river has seduced men and led them into wild adventures.

The Perfect Book Club

March 28, 2012| Solar by Ian McEwan

SolarAn engrossing, satirical and very funny new novel on climate change.

Michael Beard is in his late fifties; bald, overweight, unprepossessing — a Nobel Prize-winning physicist whose best work is behind him. Trading on his reputation, he speaks for enormous fees, lends his name to the letterheads of renowned scientific institutions and half-heartedly heads a government-backed initiative tackling global warming. An inveterate philanderer, Beard finds his fifth marriage floundering. But this time it is different: she is having the affair, and he is still in love with her.

When Beard's professional and personal worlds are entwined in a freak accident, an opportunity presents itself, a chance for Beard to extricate himself from his marital mess, reinvigorate his career and very possibly save the world from environmental disaster.

With a global scope, Solar is a comedy dealing directly with the crises of today. A story of one man's ambitions and self-deceptions, it is a startling and stylish new departure in the work of one of the world's great writers.

New in Paper

Almost Nearly Strangers at our Gates
End of Memory Little Life

News and Events

Canada Reads

We're always stocked with all five books in Canada Reads. The Illegal will release in trade paper by February 23rd so stock up and read along.

Transforming Ottawa

Alain Miguelez, the author, has announced that a second printing is underway. We have taken many reservations for the book. Call us and put your name on the list and we'll call as soon as it lands in the store.

Family Day, February 15th

Perfect Books will be closed for the day on Monday, February 15th so that we may enjoy our families. We hope you do he same

Versefest

Versefest runs from March 15th to the 20th and Perfect Books is the bookseller. Be sure to check out the wonderful lineup of international, national and local poets who will be reading and performing. Visit the Versefest website for details.

 

 

 

Contact Us

We're conveniently located in heart of Ottawa at 258A Elgin Street (at Somerset Street West). map.

PHONE: (613) 231-6468         FAX: (613) 231-4425         EMAIL: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

 

Socialize

facebook  twitter   google  rss